Owners are searching
Plumbing software for small business: what it costs and what to pick
Short answer: plumbing software for a small shop costs $59 to $533 a month on published prices. Housecall Pro Max is $299 for 8 users, Jobber Grow is $229 for 5 users, and Service Fusion Pro is a flat $533 for unlimited users. ServiceTitan publishes no price; a third-party estimate is $250 to $498 per tech a month. For most shops under 10 techs, a flat-price plan is the right call.
The catch is the per-user fee. A plan that costs $299 at 6 users costs $614 at 17.
What does plumbing software cost in 2026?
Four vendors dominate small plumbing shops, and three of them publish a price. All figures below are monthly, billed yearly, as read on each pricing page on November 2, 2026.
| Software | Published price | Users included | Extra users |
|---|---|---|---|
| Housecall Pro, Basic | $59 | 1 | Not listed |
| Housecall Pro, Essentials | $149 | 5 | Not listed |
| Housecall Pro, Max | $299 | 8 | $35 each |
| Jobber, Grow, 5 users | $229 | 5 | $29 each |
| Jobber, Grow, 15 users | $399 | 15 | Sales quote at 16+ |
| Service Fusion, Plus | $325 | Unlimited | None |
| Service Fusion, Pro | $533 | Unlimited | None |
| Workiz | Not published | Not stated | Not stated |
| ServiceTitan | Not published | Per tech | About $250 to $498 a tech (estimate) |
Workiz shows "Request pricing" on all three plans. The ServiceTitan range is a CostBench estimate, not a quote. Month-to-month billing costs more: Housecall Pro Max is $329, Service Fusion Pro is $627.
The free tiers that autocomplete suggests ("plumbing software free") are mostly trials or one-user starter plans. Expect a paid plan once you have a second tech on the schedule.
What does a plumbing shop actually need from software?
Five things. Everything else is a nice-to-have you can add later.
- Dispatch and scheduling. A board that shows who is where, with the job address and history on the tech's phone.
- A flat-rate pricebook. Plumbing sells by the task, not by the hour. The pricebook is what keeps two techs quoting the same drain clearing the same price.
- Estimates with options. Good, better, best on one screen, signed on the phone.
- Invoicing and payments. Invoice and card payment from the driveway, synced to QuickBooks.
- Memberships. Recurring plans for water heater flushes and annual inspections. This is the repeat revenue.
Where those five sit on each plan matters more than the headline price. On Housecall Pro, the price book is in every plan, flat-rate pricing starts at Essentials, and recurring service plans start at Max. On Jobber, quotes, invoices and payments are in the base plan, but the pages I read list no flat-rate pricebook or membership feature by name. Service Fusion lists dispatch and invoicing from Starter. On Workiz, flat rate and service plans appear only on the top tier, Ultimate.
So the plan you need is rarely the cheapest one. A plumbing shop that sells memberships should price the plan that includes them.
How does the per-user fee grow as I hire techs?
It grows linearly, and it is the line most owners underestimate. Count every login, not just trucks: the office manager, the dispatcher and you.
Housecall Pro Max includes 8 users, then adds $35 per extra user. Jobber adds $29 per extra user, and above 15 users it stops publishing a price. ServiceTitan is per technician, so the bill moves with every hire.
| Users | Housecall Pro Max | Service Fusion Pro | ServiceTitan (estimate) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 (5 techs, 1 office) | $299 | $533 | $1,870 |
| 12 | $439 | $533 | Per tech |
| 17 (15 techs, 2 office) | $614 | $533 | $5,610 |
ServiceTitan row uses $374 a tech a month, the midpoint of CostBench's range, on techs only. Price for 12 users: $299 plus 4 extra users at $35.
Notice the crossover. Below 15 users, Housecall Pro Max is cheaper than Service Fusion Pro ($509 at 14 users, $544 at 15). Above that, the flat plan wins and keeps winning. That is the whole case for flat pricing: it does not punish you for hiring.
Read the guides on ServiceTitan pricing per tech and the main alternatives if you are comparing against the big platform.
What does it cost over 3 years at 5 and 15 techs?
This is an example, not a client result. It uses the published prices above, billed yearly, held flat for 36 months. Real prices rise; owners report increases on Trustpilot and BBB. It assumes 1 office user at 5 techs and 2 at 15. It leaves out onboarding fees, card processing and add-ons.
| Option | 5 techs, a month | 5 techs, 3 years | 15 techs, a month | 15 techs, 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Housecall Pro Max | $299 | $10,764 | $614 | $22,104 |
| Service Fusion Pro | $533 | $19,188 | $533 | $19,188 |
| ServiceTitan (estimate) | $1,870 | $67,320 | $5,610 | $201,960 |
| Owned, One tool (CNL) | $440 | $21,840 | $440 | $21,840 |
Arithmetic: Housecall Pro 5 techs, $299 x 36 = $10,764; 15 techs, ($299 + 9 x $35) x 36 = $22,104. Owned One tool: $6,000 once, plus ($290 + about $150 hosting) x 36 = $21,840.
Read it plainly. At 5 techs, a $299 plan is the cheapest line, and no rebuild beats it. At 15 techs, Housecall Pro, Service Fusion and an owned single tool land within about $3,000 of each other. The big gap is ServiceTitan, on the estimate above. The owned option only pulls ahead when it replaces several rented tools at once, or when the rented price keeps rising.
Is renting or owning plumbing software the better call?
For most small shops, renting a flat-price plan is the right call. If you have under 10 techs and one tool to run, spend $59 to $533 a month and move on.
Owning starts to make sense under three conditions:
- You pay for four or five separate tools (field service software, a reviews tool, call tracking, e-signature, an automation tool) and the combined bill is $3,000 a month or more.
- You are past 15 users on a per-user plan, or on a per-tech plan like ServiceTitan.
- You want the data and code in your own cloud account, so no vendor can reprice or lock you out.
CNL rebuilds the tools plumbing shops rent as one system the shop owns: code in your GitHub, data in your cloud account. Plans start at $6,000 once plus $290 a month for one tool, $18,000 plus $590 a month for two to four tools, and $30,000 plus $990 a month for five or more. There are no per-tech or per-seat fees, the monthly fee is locked for 24 months, and you can exit with 30 days' notice. Hosting is about $150 a month, billed at cost in your account.
CNL only starts when the audit shows the rebuild paying for itself within 12 months of going live. If the audit shows renting is cheaper, it says so. That is a real outcome: at 5 techs on one tool, it usually is. Email, accounting ledgers and payroll are not rebuilt.
Not sure which plumbing software pays? We will price it.
Tell us which tools you pay for. Within five business days you get a free, line-by-line audit: what each tool costs you a year, what we would rebuild as one system you own, a fixed price, and the month it pays for itself. The plan is yours to keep either way.
Get my free audit Fixed quote. No per-tech fees. No call needed to get the plan.Questions owners ask
What is the best plumbing software for a small business?
For 1 to 5 techs, Housecall Pro Essentials ($149 for 5 users) or Jobber Grow ($229 for 5 users) cover scheduling, estimates and invoices. If you want memberships and a flat-rate pricebook, check which tier includes them before you buy.
Is there free plumbing software?
Not for a working shop. The pricing pages I read show trials and entry plans, such as Housecall Pro Basic at $59 a month for 1 user and a 7-day trial at Workiz. Anything free usually caps users or features.
Does ServiceTitan publish its prices?
No. Every plan says "request pricing". CostBench estimates $250 to $498 per tech a month, so a 5-tech shop is looking at roughly $1,250 to $2,490 a month before add-ons.
Do I need a flat-rate pricebook?
If you quote by task, yes. It keeps prices consistent between techs and speeds up estimates. Check the tier: on Housecall Pro it starts at Essentials, and on Workiz it appears on Ultimate.
How do I avoid the per-user cost trap?
Count every login, including the office, and price the plan at the headcount you expect in 12 months. A flat-price plan or a system you own removes the penalty for hiring.
Sources
- Housecall Pro pricing, plans, users and features (read Nov 2, 2026): https://www.housecallpro.com/pricing/
- Jobber pricing, Grow and Plus by user count, $29 extra user (read Nov 2, 2026): https://www.getjobber.com/pricing/
- Service Fusion pricing, unlimited users, Plus $325 and Pro $533 (read Nov 2, 2026): https://www.servicefusion.com/pricing
- Workiz pricing, plans listed with no prices (read Nov 2, 2026): https://www.workiz.com/pricing/
- CostBench, ServiceTitan price estimate $250 to $498 per user a month (snapshots Mar and Jul 2026): https://costbench.com/software/field-service-management/servicetitan/price-history/